Book Reviews

The Night Circus Book Review

the night circus

Goodreads

Title: The Night Circus

Author: Erin Morgenstern

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Romance and Historical Fiction

Synopsis: 
The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

Within these nocturnal black-and-white striped tents awaits an utterly unique, a feast for the senses, where one can get lost in a maze of clouds, meander through a lush garden made of ice, stare in wonderment as the tattooed contortionist folds herself into a small glass box, and become deliciously tipsy from the scents of caramel and cinnamon that waft through the air.

Welcome to Le Cirque des Rêves.

Beyond the smoke and mirrors, however, a fierce competition is under way–a contest between two young illusionists, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood to compete in a “game” to which they have been irrevocably bound by their mercurial masters. Unbeknownst to the players, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will.

As the circus travels around the world, the feats of magic gain fantastical new heights with every stop. The game is well under way and the lives of all those involved–the eccentric circus owner, the elusive contortionist, the mystical fortune-teller, and a pair of red-headed twins born backstage among them–are swept up in a wake of spells and charms.

But when Celia discovers that Marco is her adversary, they begin to think of the game not as a competition but as a wonderful collaboration. With no knowledge of how the game must end, they innocently tumble headfirst into love. A deep, passionate, and magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

Their masters still pull the strings, however, and this unforeseen occurrence forces them to intervene with dangerous consequences, leaving the lives of everyone from the performers to the patrons hanging in the balance.

Both playful and seductive, The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern’s spell-casting debut, is a mesmerizing love story for the ages.

My Rating: teal-star-hiteal-star-hiteal-star-hiteal-star-histar2

My Review: “The finest of pleasures are always the unexpected ones.”

The Night Circus was such a beautiful read. I loved the magic and romance. Even though I gave it 4 1/2 stars it is one of my favorite reads of 2017.

I wish this circus was real, occurring right now. I would love to visit each tent and stay all night long. So much detail was in this book that it felt like I was in the circus. Tasting and smelling the caramel popcorn, getting my tarot cards read and watching Celia Bowen perform illusions.

I know there is a lot of hype going on with this book and I agree it is amazing but I want to let those going into this know that it is a book with a lot of detail and not much action. There are multiple POVs and it goes back and forth with the time periods. It was confusing at times and caused me to keep checking what year the chapter was taking place in.

This book made me hungry. There were so many scenes with food described that I think a cook book needs to be made from the descriptions. One item sold in the circus did not have a name but it was described as “layers of pastry and cinnamon and sugar all rolled into a twist and covered in icing.” Yum! I’d love to try one of those. There were midnight feasts with full course meals that sound so delicious that I would have loved to try too.

Some people did not enjoy the pace of this book but I loved it!! I love the magic, the mystery. I highly suggest this book if you are not in the mood for high fantasy or contemporary.

This seems to be the only book written by Erin Morgenstern but if she would ever to have another book published I would most definitely read it.

Thank you for reading my review!

Have a lovely day!!

Cassie

4 thoughts on “The Night Circus Book Review

  1. I found that, whilst this wasn’t the greatest read (sometimes confusing, and had slow pacing), it had beautiful imagery, so I’d imagine it would open to reading more of Morgenstern’s works, if she were to write more any time soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely agree with what has already been said. Night Circus has its faults, but I read it five years ago AND STILL think about it all the time! Such colorful wonderful imagery and world building! It’s one of those books that makes me want to write a book… someday… (she says sheepishly…) Anyway- glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

