Book Reviews

The Forgetting Book Review

the-forgetting

Goodreads

Title: The Forgetting

Author: Sharon Cameron

Genre: Science Fiction

Synopsis: What isn’t written, isn’t remembered. Even your crimes.

Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of the Forgetting, a day of no remorse, when each person’s memories – of parents, children, love, life, and self – are lost. Unless they have been written.

In Canaan, your book is your truth and your identity, and Nadia knows exactly who hasn’t written the truth. Because Nadia is the only person in Canaan who has never forgotten.

But when Nadia begins to use her memories to solve the mysteries of Canaan, she discovers truths about herself and Gray, the handsome glassblower, that will change her world forever. As the anarchy of the Forgetting approaches, Nadia and Gray must stop an unseen enemy that threatens both their city and their own existence – before the people can forget the truth. And before Gray can forget her.

My Rating: teal-star-hiteal-star-hiteal-star-histar2

My Review: “We are made of our memories. Now we are nothing. It feels like death.”

First off, I went into this book blind. The only thing I knew about this book was that every 12 years an event called The Forgetting occurred and the characters had to keep a journal of their lives. I didn’t even know this book was a Sci-Fi until halfway in the book. Which sad to say, that is when it finally picked up for me. I was not going to DNF this book. I had to find out what happened to everyone and why The Forgetting occurred. I am so GLAD I did not DNF this book.

The first half of this book felt like it went so slow. I absolutely loved the plot of The Forgetting but I felt like the writing could have been better. I have never read a book written by Sharon Cameron so I have no idea if this book portrays her usual writing style or not. Sorry Sharon Cameron… I did love the last half of the book though. There was action, new discoveries, romance and betrayal. I did smile and laugh but a few parts made me mad and confused.

I felt as though the relationship between Nadia and Gray was awkward. Maybe it was because she remembered him and he did not remember her. He just knows what he does about her after his first forgetting. What I did love about their relationship was that it was not instant! This book goes by several days and weeks at a time and their love for each other grows.

There is a group called the Council that keeps track of the people in Canaan and keeps order. The head of that group is Janis. I would’ve loved to read more about her. She didn’t come in at full force until the last half of the book.

Another group in Canaan is called the Lost. They are the people who “lost” their books during a forgetting, leaving them with no identity, causing them to make up new names and lives. They are moved into a separated community inside the walls by the Council and are disliked by those who do still have their books.

In Canaan there is a huge building called the Archives. It is where everyone takes their books once they are finished writing in them to keep safe. They can go in anytime and read the books if they want to see what happened to them before the forgetting. The people however can not go into the room where the books are kept because someone could take someone else’s book and change it. That is when a man named Reese stands out the doors, pats everyone down to make sure no one takes a pen and ink in to change their books. The people have to go into the Reading Room, wait for their books being brought to them by one of the Archivists, and then they get the chance to read.

Like I said, I went into this book blind. Maybe if I went into it knowing more I would’ve liked it better. I hate that I didn’t even realize it was Sci-Fi when I started reading it. I love Sci-Fi books, UGH! I do plan on picking up the second book of this series/trilogy/duology? if one comes out.

I still think this is a book worth picking up. If you do, make sure you go into this book with a little more information than I did.

Thank you for reading my review!

Have a lovely day bookworms!

Cassie

One thought on “The Forgetting Book Review

Leave a Reply

