Quotes and Poems

Sunday Quotes & Poems

Hello Bookworms!

I hope all is well!

During my junior and senior years at high school, I kept journals of quotes I wrote down from many sources. After I would finish my school work, you would find me head down, with a pen in my hand and a notebook in front of me writing quote after quote. I figured it was time to share those quotes, poems and sayings I have found with everyone.

This blog post is the first of many that I will be sharing quotes and poems with you. Every Sunday I will put up ten quotes and two poems. The first five will be inspirational, celebrity sayings, proverbs, psalms etc. The next five will be quotes from books. The last two will be poems.


These first five quotes I have picked out of my “Quotationary” book put together by Leonard Roy Frank and published by Random House Webster’s.

“None of us will ever accomplish anything excellent or commanding except when he listens to this whisper which is heard by him alone.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

“I like things to happen; and if they don’t happen, I like to make them happen.”
– Winston Churchill

“Dancing is the body made poetic.”
– Ernst Bacon

“Defeat is simply a signal to press onward.”
– Helen Keller

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”
– Theodore Roosevelt


Quotes from books we love to read!

“There is some good in this world, and it’s worth fighting for.”
– J.R.R. Tolkin, The Two Towers

“None of us really changes over time. We only become more fully what we are.”
– Anne Rice, The Vampire Lestat

“It’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”
– Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

“Many boys will bring you flowers. But someday you’ll meet a boy who will learn your favorite flower, your favorite song, your favorite sweet. And even if he is too poor to give you any of them, it won’t matter because he will have taken the time to know you as no one else does. Only that boy earns your heart.”
– Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

“Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armor yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.”
– George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones


Poetry

Where the Sidewalk Ends – Shel Silverstein

There is a place where the sidewalk ends
And before the street begins,
And there the grass grows soft and white,
And there the sun burns crimson bright,
And there the moon-bird rests from his flight
To cool in the peppermint wind.

Let us leave this place where the smoke blows black
And the dark street winds and bends.
Past the pits where the asphalt flowers grow
We shall walk with a walk that is measured and slow,
And watch were the chalk-white arrows go
To the place where the sidewalk ends.

Yes we’ll walk with a walk that is measured and slow,
And we’ll go where the chalk-white arrows go,
For the children, they mark, and the children, they know
The place where the sidewalk ends.

Dreams – Langston Hughes

Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird
That cannot fly.
Hold fast to dreams
For when dreams go
Life is a barren field
Frozen with snow.


Do you have a favorite quote or poem? Comment below! I may post them in upcoming blog posts!

I hope you enjoyed these quotes and poems. I loved sharing these with you!

Have an amazing day!!!

Leave a Reply

