Book Reviews

Stalking Jack The Ripper Book Review

stalking-jack-the-ripper

Goodreads

Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper

Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.
Against her father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world. .

My Rating: teal-star-hiteal-star-hiteal-star-hiteal-star-hi

My Review: *~*Contains Spoilers*~*

“Roses have both petals and thorns, my dark flower. You needn’t believe something weak because it appears delicate. Show the world your bravery.”

Just reading the title I knew it would be a fantastic read. Kerri Maniscalco’s writing had me engrossed from beginning to end. She wrote in such detail, it felt like I was actually there. From sneaking through the streets in the dead of night to slicing open a cadaver with a scalpel. It is a bloody, eerie and mysterious read. It kept me on my toes as my heart pounded nervously awaiting the next murder. I could never guess who Jack the Ripper was. Who could it be that she loved so much? One minute I thought it was one character and then something would happen to make me think it was another. I should’ve seen who it was from a mile away but that is what I loved about this book. It kept me guessing and took me by surprise.

I remember reading about Jack the Ripper when I was younger and thought how could someone do this. What could possibly be going through his head. Why was he so famous when so many other murders have occurred with more victims. Maybe it was the way he laid them out for people to find or what he took from them. Then there are his letters! AH! Who knows. Jack the Ripper will always be a mystery for one to solve.

I love the main character, Audrey Rose. She knows what she wants and goes after it even when her father forbids it and society finds it unappealing for a woman of the era. Oh how will she ever find a suitable husband if she keeps sneaking out and cutting open deceased bodies in the name of science! Gasp! She tried to fit in with the girls her age, gossiping and talking about clothes and makeup but gave up because of her love of finding out mysteries and science of bodies. She is strong and fierce and I admire her.

Thomas Cresswell. Oh boy. I absolutely loved this character. He reminded me so much of Sherlock. The way he deduces every possibility to come to the right conclusion amazes me. I have always wondered how one could be so observant, such as Sherlock Holmes, and here we have another character to ponder about. At one moment Thomas can be cold and emotionless when it comes down to his job and the murders but when he and Audrey are away from all that he becomes a witty and flirty man.

If you love historical fiction, crime, gore and of course Jack the Ripper, I highly recommend this book. I hope we get to see more of Audrey and Thomas and I look forward to reading more of Kerri Maniscalco’s books.

One thought on “Stalking Jack The Ripper Book Review

Leave a Reply

